Yediyurappa to hold floor test on July 29

Bengaluru, July 26 : Karnataka’s new Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa on Friday said that he will prove his majority in the state Assembly on Monday.

“At the cabinet meeting held soon after I took oath as Chief Minister, I decided to go for floor test in the Assembly on Monday at 10 a.m., to prove majority,” Yediyurappa said at a crowded press conference in the state secretariat.

Yeddyurappa met Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala at 10 am to stake claim to form government and requested him to allow him to hold oath ceremony today, three days following the exit of the 14-month-old JD-S-Congress coalition government.

After his meting with Governor, Yeddyurappa announced, “I just met the Governor, I will take oath as Chief Minister today at 6 pm”.

Yeddyurappa, 76, who masterminded attempts to topple the coalition, said,
“I am going to meet the Governor today at 10 am to stake claim to form the government and I will request him to hold oath ceremony today itself,” Yeddyurappa, a three-time chief minister said.

The confidence motion moved by Kumaraswamy got 99 votes as against 105 of the opposition leading to its defeat.
With 15 rebel legislators of the Congress-JD-Secular resigning from their Assembly segments across the state, the effective strength of the 225-member House has reduced to 210, with 106 as the new halfway mark for simple majority.

The 76-year-old Yeddyurappa first took over as the chief minister of Karnataka in 2007, but could not hold on to the post for mere seven days after the JD(S) withdrew support and the President’s rule was imposed in the state. He again made way to the coveted post in 2008 but again owing to corruption charges failed to complete a full term.

During his second term, he held the post from May 2008 to July 2011. He had to resign following the accusations of corruption charges in illegal land deregulation notification scam.

Karnataka Speaker Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar disqualified two Congress rebel MLAs Ramesh Jarkiholi and Mahesh Kumathalli and one independent rebel MLA.

Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar on Thursday disqualified Independent MLA R Shankar, till current assembly term ends in 2023. Karnataka Assembly Speaker suspended three rebel MLAs two days after the HD Kumaraswamy government lost the trust vote .

“They cannot be part of this assembly in any form. The main purpose why this law was instituted.

They cannot contest till 2023,” says Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar. Both the MLAs have been disqualified under 10th schedule of the Anti-defection law.

Congress leader Dinesh Gundu Rao welcomes speakers decision to disqualify three rebel MLAS, calls it a victory for democracy.

Former CM and congress leader Siddaramaiah says speaker’s decision was essential for protection of democracy. “I welcome the decision of the Hon’ble Chairman to disqualify the three MLAs of our party involved in anti-party activities. Such stringent resolutions are essential for the protection of democracy. This historic decision will be a warning hour for those who violate the mandate for selfish achievement.”

Related Posts