Voting underway for Kerala’s Malappuram Lok Sabha seat bypoll


New Delhi, April 12, 2017: The by-poll in Kerala’s Malappuram Lok Sabha constituency began early on Wednesday morning. More than 13 lakh voters are expected to exercise their franchise.

The main contenders in this election are Congress-led-UDF candidate P K Kunhalikutty of the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML), CPI-M candidate M B Faizal of the ruling Left Democratic Front (LDF) and BJP’s N Sreeprakash. Six Independent candidates are also in contention.

There are over 1,100 polling stations in the constituency having a total of 13,12,693 voters.

The seat fell vacant following the death of Indian Union Muslim League’s (IUML) E Ahamed, who had won by roughly 2 lakh votes in 2014.

The high-voltage campaign saw workers of UDF, LDF and BJP engaged in hectic canvassing.

UDF sought votes to protect secularism and strengthen secular forces at the national level while LDF attacked the BJP on various issues.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Ahamed had won the seat by a margin of 1,94,739 votes against CPI(M)’s P K Sainaba.

Wefornews Bureau

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top