Voting ends for 4th phase of Lok Sabha Elections in UP

Lucknow, April 29: The voting which commenced at 7 am for the 13 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh for the fourth phase of Lok Sabha election was concluded at 6 pm on Monday.

Around 52.52 per cent of polling was recorded till 5 p.m.

The politically sensitive state on Monday saw Kanpur, Shahjahanpur, Lakhimpur Kheri, Hardoi, Mishrikh, Unnao, Farrukhabad, Etawah, Kannauj, Akbarpur, Jalaun, Jhansi, and Hamirpur voting in the fourth phase.

Barring Kannauj, Bharatiya Janata Party had won all the seats in 2014 elections.

Former Union Ministers and Congress leaders Salman Khurshid is contesting from Farrukhabd and Sriprakash Jaiswal from Kanpur, while Dimple Yadav is seeking re-election from Kannauj.

BJP’s Sakshi Maharaj is fighting from Unnao, Uttar Pradesh Minister Satyadev Pachauri is also contesting from Kanpur after the party dropped sitting MP and veteran BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi.

A total electorate of 2.38 crore were eligible to exercise their franchise at 27,513 polling booths where polling started at 7 am and continued till 6 pm.

The BJP has dropped four of its sitting MPs from Shahjahanpur, Hardoi, Mishrikh and Etawah.

The SP-BSP alliance has fielded six BSP candidates and seven SP candidates. The Congress has fielded candidates from 12 parliamentary constituencies, and it is not in the fray from Kannauj.


Related Posts