By-Polls 2018: Samajwadi Party, RLD complains of EVM malfunctioning

Punjab By Poll

New Delhi, May 28: Voting is presently underway in four Lok Sabha seats and 10 Assembly constituencies across the country. 

Polling began at 7 a.m. and will continue till the evening.

The parliamentary by-elections are being held in Uttar Pradesh’s Kairana, Bhandara-Gondiya and Palghar in Maharashtra and Nagaland. While, the Assembly by-elections are taking place in Palus Kadegaon constituency (Maharashtra), Noorpur (Uttar Pradesh), Jokihat (Bihar), Gomia and Silli (Jharkhand), Chengannur (Kerala), Ampati (Meghalaya), Shahkot (Punjab), Tharali (Uttarakhand) and Maheshtala (West Bengal).

According to News 18 report, around 34 villages that house 50,000 voters in the Bhandara-Gondia Lok Sabha constituency in Maharashtra are boycotting the by-elections, alleging their demands against the Gosikhurd irrigation project haven’t been fulfilled.

While in Uttar Pradesh’s Kairana, joint SP-RLD candidate Tabassum Hasan has registered a complaint on EVM glitches and alleged malpractices by the Bharatiya Janata Party to the Election Commission


BJP delegation meets EC officials over reports of malfunctioning in EVMs

40.37% voter turnout recorded till 5 pm in Maharashtra’s Palghar by-poll.

Amid complaints of EVM malfunctioning, the Noorpur byelection had seen 57% voter turnout, While over 43% Polling recorded till 4 pm in Kairana, News 18 reported.

69% voter turnout recorded till 5 pm in Punjab’s Shahkot assembly By-Election and 70.01% voter turnout recorded in West Bengal’s Maheshtala assembly By-Poll.

VVPAT machines replaced, smooth polling resumes: Shamli DM Vikram Singh
SP Leader RG Yadav demands re-polling

Karnataka: 34% voter turnout recorded till 1 pm in RR Nagar assembly election, While 44% voter turnout in Punjab’s Shahkot assembly by-election.

EVMs malfunctioning in Bhandara-Gondiya poll, Says NCP Leader Praful Patel 

SP-RLD candidate Tabassum Hasan complains to EC 

BJP Wants to Avenge Defeat in Gorakhpur and Phulpur, says SP leader Rajendra Chaudhary

Machines are being tampered everywhere, says Tabassum Hasan, Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD)

10.20% voting recorded till 9 am in Kairana Lok Sabha by-election, While 6% voting in Noorpur assembly by-election.

Voting underway for Nagaland Lok Sabha by-poll, visuals from a polling station in Dimapur

Maharashtra: 11 faulty EVMs reported across polling booths in Gondiya and Bhandara Lok Sabha constituencies around 10 am.

Meghalaya: Voting underway for Ampati assembly constituency

Voting underway at a polling booth in Punjab’s Shahkot

Bihar: Voting underway at a polling booth for Jokihat assembly by-poll

Voting underway at a polling station for Bhandara

Kairana By Poll: Voting stalled at Public Inter College, Kairana due to faulty VVPAT, news agency ANI reported.

Voting underway at a polling booth in Maheshtala

People outside a polling booth in Palghar

Jharkhand: People queue outside a polling booth in Silli

Kerala: Saji Cherian, Left Democratic Front (LDF) candidate for Chengannur assembly by-poll cast vote

Karnataka: Voting underway for Bengaluru’s Rajarajeshwarinagar legislative Assembly seat 

Uttar Pradesh: Voting for Kairana Lok Sabha by-poll underway; Visuals from Shamli

Kerala: People form a queue in Kozhuvalloor village as voting for Chengannur assembly by-poll begins

Related Posts