Vijay Rupani to continue as Gujarat Chief Minister, Nitin Patel named Deputy

Vijay Rupani, Nitin Patel

Ahmedabad, Dec 22: The Bharatiya Janta Party on Friday announced that Vijay Rupani will continue as Gujarat Chief Minister, while Nitin Patel remained Deputy Chief Minister. 

The announcement was made in a meeting conducted by elected BJP candidates following the party’s victory in the high stakes Gujarat Assembly elections, under the chairmanship of Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and BJP general secretary Saroj Pandey.

The leaders unanimously elected Rupani as leader of the BJP’s legislature party.

Addressing media, Jaitley said “Vijay Rupani chosen as Legislature party leader unanimously, Nitin Bhai Patel as the deputy Legislature party leader in a meeting today. Will inform you all about the swearing in, soon”.

“Process of electing is that we set process into motion as Central Observers, call upon elected MLAs to propose a name. Bhupendra Singh proposed these two names for the leader and Deputy leader, it was supported by 5 other MLAs who came to the dais and supported them,

This was then put to the house which they unanimously accepted. I also asked the members if anybody had any alternative proposal, and since there was none, the two were declared as unanimously elected”,  Jaitely added.

Rupani, who had been appointed as Chief Minister on August 7, 2016, after Anandiben Patel was removed from the post, was selected by the newly-elected legislators who met under the central observer team on Friday at the Gujarat BJP headquarters ‘Shree Kamalam’.

Independent MLA Ratansinh Rathod from Lunawada has offered support to the BJP, bringing its number to 100 in the House.


Related Posts