Uttar Pradesh: Yogi Adityanath govt transfers 26 IPS officers

Yogi Adityanath
Yogi Adityanath, File Photo

Lucknow, Feb 2: Yogi Adityanath-led Uttar Pradesh government on Friday transferred 26 Indian Police Service (IPS) officers, including the Additional Director General (ADG) and Inspector General of Police (IG) Lucknow.

The state capital has witnessed a spate of dacoities in the past few days and the transfers seemingly are a result of the soaring crime graph in the city.

Deepak Kumar, the Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP), however, has been spared the stick for now, as per the state Home Department statement.

Rajiv Krishna succeeded Abhay Kumar Prasad as the ADG of Lucknow and Sujit Pandey will be the new Lucknow IG in place of Jai Narayan Singh.

IG (Railways) Vinod Kumar Singh has been sent to Moradabad as the new IG. P.V. Ramashastri has been named the new ADG of Varanasi, the parliamentary constituency of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Prem Prakash has been made the new ADG of Bareilly and Dhruv Kant Thakur is the new IG Bareilly. Mohit Agarwal, who was the IG of Gorakhpur zone, the hometown of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, has been transferred and replaced by Neelabja Chowdhary.


Related Posts