UP bypoll: Setback to BJP, SP wins Gorakhpur and Phulpur

Yogi Adityanath, Akhilesh Yadav
Yogi Adityanath, Akhilesh Yadav

Lucknow, March 14: In a shock defeat for Bharatiya Janata Party, the Samajwadi Party won the Gorakhpur and Phulpur parliamentary seats in Uttar Pradesh.

In the initial rounds of counting, BJP was leading in both seats but after some rounds, the SP took over the BJP.

Lucknow Assembly adjourned till 12.20 pm following a ruckus over the issue of media being kept out of counting center in Gorakhpur, the issue was raised by SP’s Ram Govind Chaudhary.

Gorakhpur ByPoll: SP’s Praveen Kumar Nishad clinched victory by defeating BJP’s Upendra Dutt Shukla.

Phulpur ByPoll: Samajwadi Party’s Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel wins Phulpur Lok Sabha seat by 59,613 votes

Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel
Samajwadi Party’s Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel

Initially, the postal ballots were being counted after which the electronic voting machines (EVMs) will be opened for counting.

Results for both the seats were likely to be announced by 12 noon.

The Gorakhpur seat was vacated by Yogi Adityanath after he became Chief Minister while the Phulpur seat fell vacant after the election of his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya as an MLC in the state assembly.

Amid poor balloting – 43 percent in Gorakhpur and 37.39 percent in Phulpur, both the ruling, as well as the opposition, was claiming victory.

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has extended support to the Samajwadi Party (SP) candidates in both the seats.


Related Posts