Union Cabinet approves new Metro Rail policy

delhi metro

New Delhi, Aug 16, 2017: The Central cabinet on Wednesday approved a Metro Rail policy for expanding the metro network across various cities in the country.

The metro policy will talk about standardising norms and developing a procurement mechanism for implementation of the projects. It will also talk about funding and financing, officials said.

At present, metro projects with a total length of more than 350 km are operational in eight cities — Delhi, Bengaluru, Kolkata, Chennai, Kochi, Mumbai, Jaipur and Gurugram.

Metro projects are also under way in Hyderabad, Nagpur, Ahmedabad, Pune and Lucknow.

Wefornews Bureau

Related Posts