UK Election 2017 : May’s Conservative Party fails to win Majority

June 9, Friday : UK elections ends in hung Parliament, PM Theresa May’s Conservative Party failed to win overall majority, according to British Media.

With 629 results in out of the total 650, Here are the party figures :

Conservatives: 42 per cent (up 5); Labour Party 40 per cent (up 10); Liberal Democrats 7 per cent (down 1); Scottish National Party (SNP) 3 per cent (down 2); UK Independent Party 2 per cent (down 11); and Greens Party 2 per cent (down 2), reports the Guardian.

The Conservatives are predicted to get 316 seats, Labour 265, the SNP 34 and the Liberal Democrats 13.

As per the BBC, the hung parliament would be a humiliation for Prime Minister May, who chose to call Thursday’s snap general election to try to strengthen her hand in talks with the European Union over Britain’s exit from the 27-nation bloc.

Labour Party leader Jeremy Corbyn urged May to resign soon after exit polls on Thursday night indicated a gain for the opposition party, but she said her party would “ensure” stability in the UK.

“At this time more than anything else, this country needs a period of stability,” May said.

“And if, as the indications have shown and if this is correct that the Conservative Party has won the most seats and probably the most votes, then it will be incumbent on us to ensure we have that period of stability – and that is exactly what we will do,” the BBC quoted the Prime Minister as saying.

On the other side, analysts at global bank Citi said that they expected May to resign on Friday as Prime Minister after then declaration of  final results by afternoon.

SNP leader Nicola Sturgeon said the election “has been a disaster for Theresa May”, reported the BBC.

Leader of UK Independence Party Paul Nuttall tweeted: “If the exit poll is true then Theresa May has put Brexit in jeopardy. I said at the start this election was wrong. Hubris.”

However , the Liberal Democrat MP Nick Clegg witnessed the biggest shock after losing his seat to a Labour candidate.

Clegg served as deputy prime minister of the UK from 2010 to 2015 in a coalition government with the Conservatives.

Former SNP leader Alex Salmond was also failed to attain victory as he lost seat to a Conservative contender.

Wefornews Bureau 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top