Telangana map redrawn adding 21 new districts


Siddipet (Telangana), October 11: Nearly two-and-half years after it came into existence as India’s 29th state, Telangana’s map was redrawn on Tuesday with the creation of 21 new districts.

As a Dussera gift to people, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) government unveiled the new districts with an aim to improve administration at the grassroots level.

This has taken the total number of districts in India’s youngest state to 31.

Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao formally inaugurated Siddipet district at 11.13 a.m., the auspicious time set by astrologers.

Siddipet is the home district of the Chief Minister and carved out of Medak district.

Before unveiling the plaque, Rao unfurled the national flag and performed religious rituals.

Simultaneously, 20 other new districts were inaugurated by his cabinet colleagues.

Telangana, which has a population of 3.5 crore, was carved out of Andhra Pradesh and it came into existence as India’s 29th state on June 2, 2014.

Telangana Assembly speaker S. Madhusudhana Chary inaugurated Jayashankar district while Council Chairman K. Swamy Goud launched Jangaon district. Both these districts are being carved out of existing Warangal district.

Warangal Rural, another district being carved out of existing Warangal, was inaugurated by Deputy Chief Minister Kadiam Srihari.

Another Deputy Chief Minister Mohammed Mahamood Ali inaugurated Jagitial district, created out of existing Karimnagar district.

Sixteen other districts inaugurated on Tuesday were; Yadadri, Peddapally, Kamareddy, Medak, Mancherial, Vikarabad, Rajanna, Asifabad, Suryapet, Kothagudem, Nirmal, Wanaparthy, Nagarkurnool, Mahabubabad, Jogulamba and Medchal (Malkajgiri).

Barring Hyderabad, the existing 10 districts have been split into three or four districts.

The government has also created 25 new revenue divisions, 125 new mandals, four new police commissionerates, 23 new police subdivisions, 28 new circles and 91 police stations.

The government last month issued draft notification for creating 17 new districts but later decided to create four more districts in view of strong demands from various sections.

Though the protests were on for creation of more districts in different parts of the state, the government made it clear that there will be no further addition.

On an average, each district will have population of two to four lakh families, except Hyderabad where the number is much large.

TRS, in its election manifesto, had promised to create 14 new districts but the demands from various regions forced it to increase the number.

The Chief Minister’s reorganisation of districts was another step towards sustainable development and creation of golden Telangana.

He claimed that the move will help in effective monitoring and implementation of welfare schemes. He said the officials will be able to pay attention to the development of each and every poor family.

Opposition parties have criticised the government for reorganising the districts in an ‘unscientific’ manner.

Congress party’s Telangana unit President Uttam Kumar Reddy said the government carried out the process in an irrational and unilateral manner.


Related Posts