Telangana Assembly Elections: Polling ends, Around 67% voter turnout registered

telangana election-

Hyderabad, Dec 7: The polling for Telangana Assembly election was concluded on Friday, with nearly 67 percent voter turnout. 

The polling, which began on a dull note at 7 a.m. had picked up in the last two hours. Long queues of voters including women were seen especially in rural areas.

Polling was underway in all the 119 constituencies — 32,815 polling stations spread across 31 districts — in the first full-fledged elections in India’s youngest state.

In some polling centres, the process started late due to technical glitches in Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs), the poll official said.

In some polling centres, the process started late due to technical glitches in Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs), the poll official said.

Rajath Kumar said polling will continue till 5 p.m. except in 13 Left Wing Extremism affected constituencies, where it will end an hour early.

Over 50,000 security personnel, including 18,860 drafted from neighbouring states and central forces, were deployed as part of the massive security arrangements.

Over 1.50 lakh polling personnel were on duty to conduct the polling process. As many as 55,329 EVMs and 39,763 control units were arranged for the polling.

For the first time, Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) were installed across the state. The authorities have arranged 42,751 VVPATs, which are attached to the EVMs and will display for seven seconds the choice made by the voter.

The elections were expected to be a close contest between ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), which is contesting all seats on its own, and the opposition Congress-led People’s Front that includes Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Communist Party of India and Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS).

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which is contesting all seats on its own, is the third key force in some constituencies.

The Bahujan Left Front led by the Communist Party of India-Marxist and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) are also contesting majority of the seats.

All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) is contesting eight seats in Hyderabad.

The TRS had opted for dissolution of Assembly in September, eight months before its term was to end.

Of the total electorate, nearly half are women eligible to exercise their franchise to decide the political fortunes of 1,821 candidates including Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao and his 14 cabinet colleagues.


Interim voter turnout recorded till now is 67%, says Umesh Sinha, Election Commission

Jwala Gutta’s name was missing from the voter’s list.

Congress candidate from Kalwakurthy, Mahbubnagar was allegedly attacked by unknown miscreants.

The caretaker CM of Telangana cast his vote.

BJP MP Bandaru Dattatreya casts his vote.

Tennis star Sania Mirza cast her vote at Film Nagar Cultural Center in Hyderabad.

TRS MP K Kavitha stands in a queue to cast her vote at the polling booth.

Actor Chiranjeevi stands in a queue to cast his vote.

Asaduddin Owaisi casts his vote at the polling booth in Hyderabad.

Deputy Chief Minister Kadiyan Srihari cast his vote.

Actor Allu Arjun stands in a queue to cast his vote.

Actor Akkineni Nagarjuna and his wife and actor Amala Akkineni stand in a queue to cast their votes.

State Irrigation Minister T Harish Rao casts his vote.

People queue outside a polling station in Jubilee Hills, Hyderabad to cast their votes.


Related Posts