TDP quits NDA: Here’s Who said what


New Delhi, March 16: The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) on Friday walked out from the coalition of NDA government over the Centre’s refusal to grant special category status to Andhra Pradesh.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu took the decision in an emergency teleconference with party politburo members and MPs this morning.

TDP also decided to move a no-confidence motion against the Modi government over the injustice meted out to the Andhra people.

Here is what people said on withdrawal of TDP from NDA:

Mallikarjun Kharge, Congress: We have been supporting Special Category Status for AP since the beginning. We want that people of AP to get justice. When no-confidence motion is moved you have to talk about government’s failures, we contacting a lot of people.

Sitaram Yechury, CPI(M): CPI(M) supports no-confidence motion being brought against BJP govt. Its betrayal of the promise of special status for Andhra Pradesh is inexcusable. Its all-round failure & evasion of parliamentary accountability needs to be highlighted.

Mamata Banerjee, TMC: I welcome the TDP’s decision to leave the NDA. The current situation warrants such action to save the country from disaster. I appeal to all political parties in the Opposition to work closely together against atrocities, economic calamity&political instability.

MA Naqvi, BJP: Will see what happens in Parl, which party chooses to go which way. In a way it is election year & every state has demands & issues, it is not right for us to comment on it. It is a custom, before actual elections there is always a rehearsal in Parliment.

GVL Narasimha Rao, BJP: We believe TDP is finding the going tough in AP, they are seeing a defeat for themselves in 2019 and they want to use this as an alibi to really retrieve lost political ground.Ques being asked in AP as to why AP CM took 4 yrs to realise that this is not working.

Pawan Kalyan, Jana Sena Party: It is not about pulling down govt, intention is to discuss in Parliament the injustice meted to Andhra Pradesh. Jana Sena was the party that initiated it (idea of no-confidence motion), later due to public pressure YSRCP and TDP were forced to do it.

Earlier this month on March 8, the TDP withdrew its ministers from Modi’s Cabinet. — Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Y.S. Chowdary –but had stopped short of walking out of the alliance.

The BJP and its biggest ally in south TDP have been sharing a sour relationship following the announcement of the Union Budget 2018-19, over the issue of granting ‘Special Category’ Status to Andhra Pradesh.


Related Posts