Tamil Nadu CM Palanisamy wins confidence vote with 122 votes

ani photos

Chennai, Feb 18, 2017: After all 6 divisions of MLAs in Tamil Nadu Assembly vote in favour, CM Palanisamy wins the vote of confidence on Saturday.

122 MLAs in the assembly voted in favour of CM Palanisamy.

Amid pandemonium, the Tamil Nadu assembly Speaker P. Dhanapal on Saturday was heckled by the opposition DMK members, after Chief Minister Edappadi K. Palaniswami proposed a confidence motion. The Speaker adjourned the House till 3 p.m.

The Speaker sent out legislators belonging to DMK for creating ruckus before adjourning the house.

Earlier, he gave this ruling when the House resumed after a brief adjournment following pandemonium that reigned with opposition parties demanding secret ballot to decide the fate of newly-elected CM Palaniswami who proposed a confidence motion.

Soon after Palaniswami moved the motion, heated arguments began with Leader of Opposition M.K. Stalin urging the speaker to allow AIADMK MLA S. Semmalai to speak.

Semmalai is part of former Chief Minister O.Panneerselvam’s AIADMK camp. He has been appointed the party whip by AIADMK Presidium Chairman E. Madhusudanan, who is part of Panneerselvam camp.

Meanwhile, DMK MLAs have gheraoed Assembly Speaker Dhanapal, demanding a secret ballot. DMK MLA Poongothai Aladi Aruna climbed on a bench to raise slogans for a secret ballot.

The Opposition DMK, Congress and Panneerselvam camp are demanding a secret ballot.

Read More: Ahead of confidence vote, TN CM loses another MLA

Minister KA Sengottayan was appointed as the floor leader of the Tamil Nadu Assembly ahead of the floor test. He will monitor and manage the floor test’s proceedings.

The floor test in the Assembly will be the first such exercise the state will witness in about 30 years.

Wefornews Bureau

Related Posts