Take action against Sakshi Maharaj’s controversial remarks: Congress to EC

Sakshi Maharaj

Jan 8: Congress leader KC Venugopal on Sunday asserted that the remark made by BJP MP Sakshi Maharaj earlier was against the recent Supreme Court judgement which puts a ban on seeking votes in the name of religion.

Sakshi Maharaj is an MP from Unnao and Venugopal accused BJP of dividing people into communal lines. He urged the Election Commission of India to take action against the statement issued by Sakshi Maharaj.

He further said that that Maharaj’s statement was part of saffron force’s “political game” in Uttar Pradesh, which goes to polls.

Earlier, BJP distanced itself from the remarks made by their MP. To this, Venugopal said that it is a “double speak” and said that if they had belief in an element of ethics in their politics, Sakshi Maharaj would have been out of the party by now.

“They (BJP) will say that they are committed to the inclusive growth of the country. But in reality…. You can see the contradiction in what they preach and practice. They sow seeds of hatred in the minds of people during elections and divide them for polarising votes,” he said.

“It is a violation of Model Code of Conduct. It should be dealt with firmly and effectively to ensure a free and fair poll in Uttar Pradesh,” he added.

Read More: Sakshi Maharaj breaks moral code of conduct; blames Muslims for population rise

Wefornews Bureau
Related Posts