Supreme Court gets four new judges

Supreme Court of India
Supreme Court of India, File Photo

New Delhi, Nov 2: Justice Hemant Gupta, Justice R. Subhash Reddy, Justice Mukesh Kumar Rasikbhai Shah and Justice Ajay Rastogi on Friday sworn in as judges of the Supreme Court.

The new judges were administered the oath by Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi.

With the addition, the strength of the top court judges has reached to 28 — only three short of the sanctioned strength of 31.

Justice Gupta, Justice Reddy, Justice Shah and Justice Rastogi were the Chief Justices of Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Patna and Tripura High Courts, respectively before their elevation.

On October 29, the Supreme Court collegium had recommended their elevation and it was officially made public on October 30.

The central government cleared the recommendation for their elevation to apex court within two days.


Related Posts