Sunil Arora appointed new Chief Election Commissioner

New Delhi, Nov 26 : Ahead of 2019 general elections, Sunil Arora has been appointed as the new Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India as incumbent O.P. Rawat demits office on December 1.

A former Rajasthan-cadre IAS officer of 1980 batch, Arora will take over as the new Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) on December 2.

Arora will take charge as the 23rd CEC replacing Rawat. He was brought-in as Election Commissioner in September 2017 to occupy the vacancy created by Nasim Zaidi. Arora’s appointment was cleared by President Ram Nath Kovind.

Rawat will demit office a day earlier as he turns 65.

The EC is in the middle of holding Assembly elections in five states.

Besides the Lok Sabha polls, Assembly elections in Jammu and Kashmir, Odisha, Maharashtra, Haryana, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim are scheduled to be held next year.

He has also served as joint secretary in the Ministry of Civil Aviation during 1999-2002 and as information and broadcasting secretary, and the secretary in the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.

Related Posts