Sportsperson named for National Sports Awards 2016


National Sports Awards are granted every year as a reward for excellence in sports.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards is given to a sportsperson over a period of four years for most outstanding performance in the field of sports.

Arjuna Award is given when a player consistently gives outstanding performances for four years.

Dronacharya Award is for coaches for training medal winners at international sports event.

Dhyan Chand Award is for life time contribution to sports development.

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar is granted to corporate identities and individuals who have played an important role in the sports promotion and development.

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy is given to top performing university in inter­-university tournaments.

This year a large number of nominations were recieved. The Selection Committees which has former olympians, awardees, experts and sports administrators as its member consider the nominations for these awards. Retired Delhi High Court Judge, Justice S.K. Agarwal was the head of Selection committee for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards. Selection Committee for Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards was headed by M.C. Mary Kom. Selection Committee for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar was headed by Rajiv Yadav, Secretary (Sports).

Nominations for various awards

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ranta 2016

  • Ms. P.V. Sindhu for Badminton.
  • Ms. Dipa Karmakar for Gymnastics.
  • Shri Jitu Rai for Shooting.
  • Ms. Sakshi Malik for Wrestling.

Dronacharya Awards 2016

  • Shri Nagapuri Ramesh for Athletics.
  • Shri Sagar Mal Dhayal for Boxing.
  • Shri Raj Kumar Sharma for Cricket.
  • Shri Bishweshwar Nandi for Gymnastics.
  • Shri S. Pradeep Kumar for Swimming (Lifetime).
  • Shri Mahabir Singh for Wrestling (Lifetime).

Arjuna Awards 2016

  • Shri Rajat Chauhan for Archery.
  • Ms. Lalita Babar for Athletics.
  • Shri Sourav Kothari for Billiards & Snooker.
  • Shri Shiva Thapa for Boxing.
  • Shri Ajinkya Rahane for Cricket.
  • Shri Subrata Paul for Football.
  • Ms. Rani for Hockey.
  • Shri Raghunath V.R. for Hockey.
  • Shri Gurpreet Singh for Shooting.
  • Ms. Apurvi Chandela for Shooting.
  • Shri Soumyajit Ghosh for Table Tennis.
  • Ms. Vinesh for Wrestling.
  • Shri Amit Kumar for Wrestling.
  • Shri Sandeep Singh Mann for Para­-Athletics.
  • Shri Virender Singh for Wrestling (Deaf).

Dhyan Chand Award 2015

  • Ms. Satti Geetha forAthletics.
  • Shri Sylvanus Dung Dung for Hockey.
  • Shri Rajendra Pralhad Shelke for Rowing.

Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Purushkar, 2016

Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent.
Entity recommended for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2016

1.Hockey Citizen Group

2.Dadar Parsee Zorostrian cricket club

3.Usha School of Athletics


Encouragement to sports through corporate social responsibility.
Entity recommended for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2016
India Infrastructure Finance Corporate Limited.

Employment to sportspersons and other welfare measures.
Entity recommended for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2016

Reserve Bank of India.

Sports for Development.
Entity recommended for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2016

Subroto Mukherjee Sports Education Society.

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2015­-16
Punjabi University, Patiala

A function will be specially organized at Rashtrapati Bhawan on 29th August, 2016 and awardees will recieve their awards from the President of India.

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs.7.5 lakh. Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each. Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar will be given Trophies and certificates. Overall top performing university in inter­-university tournaments will be given MAKA Trophy, award money of Rs. 10 lakh and certificate.

Wefornews Bureau

Related Posts
World Cup 2019 - India Vs Bangladesh
Read More

WC 2019: Huge success on digital platform

The #CWC19 conversation generated 31 million tweets from May 20 to July 15. A comparison of the official hashtag #CWC19 to last time's #CWC15 showed more than a 100 per cent growth in tweet volume.