Six temple officials surrendered in Kerala fire tragedy


One more temple official surrender on Tuesday, two days after the fireworks tragedy at Puttingal Devi temple in Paravur in Kollam that left 109 people dead and more than 350 injured.

temple officials-wefornews

While on late Monday night, Five officials who surrendered before police include P.S. Jayalal (president), Krishnankutty Pillai (secretary), J. Prasad, Somasundaram Pillai and Ravindran Pillai — all top office bearers of the temple. The sixth official – Surendran Pillai, was surrendered on Tuesday morning.

They are being questioned by the crime branch team led by Deputy Superindent of Police Radhakrishnan Pillai at the Kollam Crime Branch office.

Paravur police had earlier charged around 30 people including the temple committee members, the contractors of the fireworks display and his workers under charges of culpable homicide.

Five workers of the fireworks contractor Surendran are already in the custody of the police team and they have confided to police about the nature of the firework display.

The temple officials, after the tragic incident that occurred around 3.30 a.m. on Sunday, had gone into hiding.

On Sunday, the Kerala government had ordered a judicial inquiry and a crime branch probe.

Wefornews Bureau

Related Posts