Shortlist announced for Shakti Bhatt First Book Prize

Shakti Bhatt First Book Prize

New Delhi, Aug 9 (IANS) Six books by debut authors have been shortlisted for the Shakti Bhatt First Book Prize 2018.

The books are “We That Are Young” by Preti Taneja; “Ants among Elephants” by Sujatha Gidla; “Temporary People” by Deepak Unnikrishnan; “Remnants of a Separation” by Aanchal Malhotra; “The Sensational Life and Death of Qandeel Baloch” by Sanam Maher; and “How to Travel Light” by Shreevatsa Nevatia.

The shortlist was chosen by writers Arshia Sattar and Jeet Thayil, husband of the late Shakti Bhatt in whose memory the prize was set up in 2008 with the motto of recognising South Asian writing.

The shortlist will now be read by judges Githa Hariharan, Sampurna Chattarji and Raghu Karnad, who will announce the winner in November.

The Shakti Bhatt First Book Prize carries a cash award of Rs 2 lakh, and a trophy.

Related Posts