Shah Rukh Khan Buys Team in South Africa’s T20 Cricket League

New Delhi, June 20: Cricket South Africa(CSA) launched its new T20 Global League in London on Monday, announcing the host cities and owners of the eight teams ahead of the player draft on Aug 19.

The owners include Bollywood star Shahrukh Khan, who also owns Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Kolkata Knight Riders, and the GMR Group, who own the Delhi Daredevils. SRK’s team will be called Capetown Knight Riders.

This is SRK’s third team in T20 cricket leagues after Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League and Trinbago Knight Riders in the Caribbean Premier League.

srk buys team in south africa

South African legend JP Duminy has been allotted as the marquee player for the Cape Town Knight Riders.

“On behalf of all of us from Knight Riders, congratulations to Cricket South Africa for the launch of exciting new T20 Global League. We are delighted and thankful that you have made Knight Riders part of the new Global League. South Africa is a beautiful country with beautiful people and I really look forward to be part of the exciting new journey and building something special together. We are particularly thrilled to make Cape Town and Newlands our new home away from home,” said Shah Rukh Khan.

He also tweeted and expressed his happiness .

Apart from Khan and GMR, other team owners include Rana Fawad (Durban), owner of Qatar Lubricants Company, who also owns Lahore Qalandars franchise of Pakistan Super League; Javed Afridi (Benoni), Pakistani business executive and owner of PSL team Peshawar Zalmi; Dubai-based businessman Ajay Sethi (Port Elizabeth), chairman of Channel 2 Group; Mustaq Enus-Brey (Stellenbosch), cofounder of Brim ..

The competition, hoping to emulate the success of competitions such as the IPL and Australia’s Big Bash, is set to start in November, with the final to be played on Dec. 16.

“We are certain that our final eight owners have the perfect combination of strategic insight and passion needed to make the first T20 Global League a complete success,” Cricket South Africa president Chris Nenzani said.

Teams will be hosted in eight centres around South Africa – Cape Town, Durban, Johannesburg, Pretoria, Bloemfontein, Port Elizabeth, Stellenbosch and Benoni.

Marquee players already signed up include former England batsman Kevin Pietersen, current England limited overs players Eoin Morgan and Jason Roy, and ex-internationals Brendon McCullum (New Zealand) and Chris Gayle (West Indies).

Almost 400 players from 10 countries have confirmed their interest in being part of the draft.

WeForNews Bureau


Related Posts