SC to deliver verdict on pleas of disqualified Karnataka MLAs Today

Supreme Court of India
Supreme Court of India, File Photo

New Delhi, Nov 13: The Supreme Court on Wednesday will pass orders on petitions filed by the 17 disqualified Congress and JD(S) Karnataka MLAs challenging the decision of then speaker KR Ramesh Kumar disqualifying them for a period of six years after they submitted their resignations.

A three-judge Bench of justices NV Ramana, Sanjiv Khanna and Krishna Murari had on October 25 reserved its verdict on the petitions filed by these disqualified MLAs.

Kumar had disqualified these 17 MLAs of ruling the Congress-JD(S) coalition ahead of a trust vote in July.

On July 23, the 14-month-old HD Kumaraswamy-led government collapsed in Karnataka after 17 rebel MLAs of the Congress and the JD(S) resigned from the Karnataka Assembly, and the BJP came to power in the state.

Then Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy had resigned after losing the trust vote, which paved the way for the BJP-led Government in the State under BS Yediyurappa.

Bypolls to 15 out of these 17 Assembly seats which fell vacant following the disqualification of MLAS are scheduled on December 5 and candidates are required to file their nomination papers between November 11 and November 18.

These disqualified MLAs have recently approached the apex court seeking a direction to the Election Commission to postpone the Assembly by-polls for these 15 seats till the pronouncement of verdict in the matter.

Some of these disqualified MLAs had argued in the apex court that they have an “indefeasible right” to resign as members of the Assembly and the decision by the then Speaker to disqualify them smacks of “vengeance” and “mala fide”.

Related Posts