SC stays disqualification of rebel AIADMK MLAs

Supreme Court of India
Supreme Court of India, File Photo

New Delhi, May 6: The Supreme Court on Monday stayed the disqualification proceedings against three rebel AIADMK MLAs in Tamil Nadu.

The Speaker of the Tamil Nadu Assembly had issued notice to the AIADMK MLAs for backing rebel party leader T.T.V. Dhinakaran. The plea alleged that the Speaker acted in an arbitrary manner.

Last week, the apex court agreed to hear the DMK’s plea against the Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker’s notice for disqualification of the three AIADMK MLAs, who extended support to rival leader and AMMK founder Dhinakaran.

Speaker P. Dhanapal on April 30 issued show cause notices to A. Prabhu (Kallakuruchi constituency), Rathinasabapathy (Aranthangi) and V.T. Kalaiselvan (Virudhachalam) — seeking explanations for their anti-party activities.

The action followed a petition by the ruling party seeking “due legal action” against them.

DMK chief M.K. Stalin on April 30 sent a letter to the Assembly Secretary proposing a no-confidence motion against the Speaker and also submitted a one-line no-trust motion against Dhanapal.

Appearing for the DMK, senior advocate Kapil Sibal said he wondered how the Speaker could issue notices for disqualification of the three AIADMK MLAs when he himself was facing a no-confidence motion.

Related Posts