Bihar polls: RJD to fight on 144 seats; Congress gets 70

Rashtriya Janata Dal to contest on 144 seats in the upcoming Bihar elections: Tejashwi Yadav, RJD
Tejashwi Yadav

In Bihar, the RJD-Congress-led Grand Alliance today announced its seat sharing formula for 243-member State Assembly Elections amid dissenting note of one ally Vikassheel Insan Party (VIP). The final deal of seat sharing was announced in a joint press conference of leaders of six parties in Patna.

RJD leader and former Deputy Chief Minister Tejaswi Prasad Yadav announced that RJD will fight on 144 seats while Congress field its candidates on 70. In addition, Congress has also got chance to contest from Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha seat on which bye poll is scheduled on 7th of November along with the State Assembly polls. He said, new entrants in Grand Alliance the Left-Wing parties will together contest on 29 seats.

Out of this, CPI(ML) has got bigger share of 19 seats while CPI has got six and CPM has got four seats. Mr. Yadav said, his party will accommodate VIP and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) from its own quota of 144 seats. He said, their seat share will be announced in a couple of days.

After the press conference, chaotic scenes were witnessed outside the venue when VIP party workers raised slogans against RJD leader Tejaswi Prasad Yadav blaming him of deceiving Mukesh Sahani over seat sharing. Later, Mr. Sahani said, Mr. Tejaswi had not kept his word as the party was promised to get 25 seats and the post of Deputy Chief Minister during the deal.

Related Posts