Right to Privacy: All you need to know about nine Sc’s judges who passed the verdict

New Delhi, Aug 24 : The Supreme Court on Thursday said individual privacy is a fundamental right under the Constitution.

A panel of nine judges, headed by Chief Justice of India are JS Khehar, including justices Jasti Chelameswar, SA Bobde, RK Agarwal, Rohinton Nariman, AM Sapre, DY Chandrachud, SK Kaul and S Abdul Nazeer,unanimously passed their verdict with the majority.

The bench observed that right to privacy is an intrinsic to freedom of life and personal liberty guaranteed under Article 21 and entire Part III of the Constitution.

Know about the nine Supreme Court judges and some of their cases  : 

CJ Jagdish Singh Khehar is the the 44th Chief Justice of India and first to hold the apex court’s prominent post. He was elevated to SC on September, 13 in 2011  and his tenure will end on August 28.

Before this he served as the Chief Justice of Karnataka high court and Uttarakhand High Court.

Khehar completed his LLB and LLM from Punjab University, Chandigarh.

Cases:  National Judicial Appointment Commission (NJAC), the 2G spectrum scam, ‘equal pay for equal work’ and the SEBI-Sahara case, Triple talaq.

Justice Jasti Chelameswar is third top most judge of the Supreme Court. He was appointed to the apex court on October 10 in 2011. Prior to this he held the post of Chief Justice of Guwahati and Kerala high court.

Cases : Shreya Singhal vs Union of India case (2015),  part of the bench which banned a controversial law which gave the police the power to arrest a person for posting emails which “causes annoyance or inconvenience”.

Justice Sharad Arvind Bobde appointed to the apex Court on April 12 in 2013. Before this he served as judge in the Bombay HC and Chief Justice of Madhya Pradesh HC.

Cases : Part of the three-judge bench of the Supreme Court, along with Chelameswar, and Chokkalingam Nagappan, which gave a consent to an earlier order of the apex court and clarified that no citizen without an Aadhaar card can be deprived of basic services and government subsidies.

Justice Rohinton Nariman is a son of  prominent advocate Fali Nariman. Began his legal career in 1979. He was a senior counsel in the apex court before being appointed as the  Judge.

He also served as Solicitor general of  India between July 27, 2011 to Feb 4 , 2013.

Cases: Historic triple talaq,  Shreya Singhal vs Union of India case (2015), Section 66A of the Information Technology Act,.

Justice DY Chandrachud elevated to the apex court on May 13, 2016. He held the post of Chief Justice of Allahabad HC and Judge of Bombay HC.

He is well known for his judgement in the areas of constitutional law and the protection of human rights.

Justice RK Agrawal appointed to the Supreme court in 2014 on February 17. Served as chief justice of the Madras High Court.

Justice AM Sapre joined the top court in 2014 on Aug 13. He was the first Chief Justice of the Manipur High Court and  also served in the Gauhati High Court.

Justice S Abdul Nazeer is the third Indian judge who directly elevated to the Supreme Court without serving the post of chief justice in any court. He is the youngest member of the constitutional bench for the right to privacy, was part of the bench in the triple talaq case.

Justice SK Kaul elevated to the apex court in February this year. He served as Chief Justice of Delhi , Harayana, Punjab and Madras. In 2008, he ruled out the obscenity case against painter MF Husain and in 2016 against prominent writer Perumal Murugan.

Wefornews Bureau 


Related Posts