Relief for Odisha farmers as depression weakens

farmers odisha

Bhubaneswar, Dec 9: The depression over the Bay of Bengal had gradually weakened and the intensity of rainfall reduced in Odisha bringing relief to the farmers, apprehending crop loss.

However, paddy crops have been damaged at several places in the state due to rain.

The deep depression over west central Bay of Bengal moved north-northwestwards and weakened into a depression over west-central and adjoining northwest Bay of Bengal, said Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) on Saturday.

“The system is very likely to move north-northeastwards along and off Odisha coast towards West Bengal and adjoining Bangladesh coast. It is very likely to maintain its intensity during 24 hours and weaken gradually into a well-marked low during subsequent 12 hours,” said an IMD bulletin.

It said rain or thundershower is likely to occur at many places in the coastal and at one or two places in the interior districts of Odisha during next 24 hours.

Bhubaneswar met centre director Sarat Chandra Sahu said rain or thundershower is likely to occur at many places in the coastal region and at one or two places in the interior districts.

He, however, said the intensity of rain is gradually receding.

Squally winds speed reaching 45-55 km per hr, gusting to 65 km per hr, are very likely to prevail along and off Odisha coasts in next 24 hours and sea condition would be rough to very rough along and off Odisha coasts during the period.

While signal number 3 (LC-III) has been kept hoisted at all ports in Odisha, fishermen have been advised not to venture into the sea.

Meanwhile, Odisha received 8.3 mm average rainfall on Saturday.

The highest rainfall of 68 mm was recorded in Puri followed by 67.3 mm in Jagatsinghpur, 44 mm in Kendrapara, 20 mm in Khordha, 19.5 mm in Cuttack, 14 mm in Jajpur, and 11.8 mm. in Bhadrak.

A total of 18 districts – Angul, Bargarh, Bolangir, Boudh, Deogarh, Dhenkanal, Gajapati, Jharsuguda, Kalahandi, Kandhamal, Koraput, Malkangiri, Nawarangpur, Nuapada, Rayagada, Sambalpur, Subarnapur and Sundargarh – did not receive any rainfall, said the met department.


Related Posts