Re-polling in six Tripura booths underway

Agartala, Feb 26: Re-polling for six booths of Tripura Assembly constituencies is underway. 

Last week, the Election Commision (EC) had ordered the fresh voting in – Dhanpur, Sonamura, Teliamura, Kadamtala-Kurti, Ampinagar and Sabroom Assembly constituencies because of criticism from the ruling Communist Party of India (Marxist) CPI(M), which accused the Tripura election department of failing to conduct a proper election.

Declaring elections held in these polling stations as ‘void’, the poll panel stated, it noticed that the number of electorates didn’t tally with the number of votes polled in four polling stations.

Out of 60 constituencies, 59 went for polls on February 18. Elections in Charilam constituency were rescheduled for March 12, following the demise of one candidate.

Meghalaya and Mizoram will vote on February 27, and results for the three northeastern states will be announced on March 3.


Related Posts