Rajya Sabha Elections: 37 elected unopposed from 10 states

rajya sabha

Patna, March 19: Out of 55 Rajya Sabha seats spread over 17 states, 37 have been elected unopposed while the elections to the remaining seats in the Upper House will be held in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Jharkhand, Andhra Pradesh and Gujarat on March 26.

In Bihar, Deputy Chairman Rajya Sabha Harivansh and four MPs were the only candidates in the fray and hence were declared unopposed for Upper House Rajya Sabha

In Maharashtra, Nationalist Congress Party chief Sharad Pawar, union minister of state for social justice and Republican Party of India (A) chief Ramdas Athawale have been elected to the upper house.

In West Bengal, four Trinamool Congress candidates and a CPI (M) nominee declared elected unopposed, officials said.

Trinamool Congress candidates Arpita Ghosh, Dinesh Trivedi, Subrata Bakshi and Mausam Noor and CPI(M)’s Bikash Ranjan Bhattacharya, backed by the Congress, were declared elected.

In Chhattisgarh Congress nominees K T S Tulsi and Phulo Devi Netam were declared unopposed.

After received Certificate from Returning officer in Patna, Harivansh thanked Chief Minister Nitish Kumar for sending him again to the upper house.

“I thank Nitish ji for giving me the opportunity to be in the Upper house agin,He is one of politician in India who is working sincerely on agenda of development from more than two decades,” he said.

All five Candidates who filed Nominations for five Rajya Sabha Seats from Bihar have been elected .Harivansh Narayan Singh (Deputy Chairman Rajya Sabha), Ramnath Thakur from JDU, Vivek Thakur From BJP and Premchand Gupta &Amrendra Dhari Singh from RJD.

Related Posts