Rajnath’s residence, J&K CID office among addresses political parties de-listed by EC

New Delhi, Dec 23, 2016: In a shocking revelation, the addresses of some of the 255 political parties, registered but unrecognised has “delisted” by the Election Commission after ascertaining that none of these parties had contested any assembly or general election between 2005 to 2015.

Here is the list that “The Indian Express” found out while investigated these ‘delisted’ parties:

1. Delhi had the largest number of parties (52) that will no longer figure in Election Commission records, followed by the country’s largest state Uttar Pradesh (41), Tamil Nadu (39) and Maharashtra (24).

2. There is the All India Progressive Janata Dal, with its address registered as 17, Akbar Road, New Delhi, 110001. Now surprisingly, the address shows it is the official residence of Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh.

3. All India Homeless People Congress: It was registered in West Bengal’s South 24 Parganas. the Womanist Party of India located in Mumbai’s Dombivli East.

4. In the NCR, a homoeopathy practitioner based in a three-storey bungalow in Gurgaon who claimed that he had wound up his outfit of “nine members”, Rashtriya Matrabhoomi Party, around “five or six years ago” due to “lack of funding”.

5. The Pavitra Hindustan Kaazhagam, registered at 11, Harish Chandra Mathur Lane, New Delhi, 110001, happens to be the office of the Jammu and Kashmir CID.

There are a few parties which only exist only on paper, the report said.

6. Rashtriya Manav Kalyan Sangh: Its address in Dwarka was turned out to be the residence of an employee of the Delhi Development Authority (DDA).

7. Rashtriya Yuva Loktantrik Party: It’s the registered address shows it is located at Chamber 461, New Chamber Complex, Patiala House Courts. Advocate Lata Goswami claimed that the outfit was formed by her younger brother Radhemohan Upadhyay. Goswami said she had “nothing to do” with her brother and described the party as a “total fraud”.

According to the report, the EC has asked the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) to look into the finances of these 255 registered but unrecognised political parties suspecting these could have been used for converting black money into white.

The commission has also asked the CBDT to take “necessary action” if required in view of the provisions listed in section 29B and 29C of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 against parties violating the law.


According to section 29C, the treasurer of a political party or any other person authorised by it shall, in each financial year, prepare a report on the contribution in excess of Rs 20,000 received by it from any person in that financial year and contribution in excess of Rs 20,000 received by it from companies other than Government companies in that financial year.

While the poll watchdog has the mandate to register a political party, it lacks power under electoral laws to deregister any party.

As its demand to get power to deregister a party is pending with the Law Ministry, the Commission used its powers under Article 324 of the Constitution to delist parties for being dormant and not contesting elections for a long time.

There are over 1780 registered, but unrecognised political parties in the country. Besides, there are seven national parties – BJP, Congress, BSP, TMC, CPI, CPI-M and NCP – and 58 state parties.

Wefornews Bureau

Related Posts