Rajasthan HC dismisses BJP petition against the merger of six BSP MLAs in Congress party

Rajasthan High Court
Rajasthan High Court

New Delhi: Rajasthan High Court dismisses the petition filed by Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) against the merger of six Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) MLAs in the state with Congress party.

The petition was filed on Friday against the Speaker’s decision to allow the merger that increased the Congress’ strength in the house.

The Ashok Gehlot camp in the Congress appears to have a tenuous majority in the Rajasthan assembly at the moment: it has 101 legislators (excluding the speaker and another lawmaker who is indisposed, but including allies); a rebel faction led by former deputy chief minister Sachin Pilot has 22 lawmakers; the BJP-led grouping has 75. It’s easy to see what the disqualification of six legislators (of the 101) could do to the government’s majority.

According to the petition, speaker CP Joshi declared the six BSP MLAs – Sandeep Yadav, (Tijara), Wajib Ali (Nagar), Deepchand Kheria (Kisangarh Bas), LakhanMeena (Karauli) and Rajendra Gu\dha (Udaipurwati) – as having merged with the Congress on September 18, 2019. Dilawar,the MLA from Ramganj Mandi constituency in Kota district, has challenged the validity, legality and correctness of the Speaker’s order.

Related Posts