Rajasthan By-Elections : Blow for Raje Govt as Congress wins Ajmer, Alwar & Mandalgarh


Jaipur, Feb 1: In a massive blow for the Vasundhara Raje-led BJP government, as the Congress on Thursday won the Mandalgarh Assembly seat, Ajmer and Alwar Lok Sabha seats in Rajasthan bye-elections. 

Congress leader Vivek Dhakad has won Mandalgarh assembly seat by 12976 votes, defeating BJP’s Shakti Singh Hada.

Karan Singh Yadav of the Congress wrested the parliamentary seat of Alwar from  Jaswant Singh Yadav’s (BJP).

Karan Singh Yadav of the Congress wrested the Alwar seat with a margin of 196719 votes defeating Jaswant Singh Yadav of BJP.

Raghu Sharma of the Congress had 154,336 votes in his kitty against the 128,291 bagged by the BJP’s Ram Swaroop Lamba in Ajmer.

This is being described as a crucial contest ahead of the state elections which are slated later in 2018.

The counting of votes for the Rajasthan By-Elections that held on January 29, in two Lok Sabha and one assembly constituencies, started at 8 a.m.

A total of 42 candidates were in the fray for the three seats.

Both the parties have campaigned aggressively, as the bypolls verdict is anticipated to reveal the mood for the Assembly polls ahead.

The bypolls were necessitated after the death of BJP MPs Sanwarlal Jat from Ajmer, Mahant Chand Nath Yogi from Alwar, and MLA Kirti Kumari from Mandalgarh.


Related Posts