Punjab By-Election Result 2019 : Congress wins three of four Assembly seats, Amarinder Singh hails victory

Amarinder Singh

Chandigarh, Oct 24 : The ruling Congress has won three seats inckuding Jalalabad seat while the Shiromani Akali Dal has emerged victorious in Dakha.

Chief Minister Amarinder Singh hailed his party’s victory in three of the four Assembly segments, particularly in SAD president Sukhbir Badal’s “self-proclaimed” stronghold of Jalalabad, and described it as a total rejection of the negative agenda of the Akalis.

Congress’s Raminder Awla defeated SAD’s Raj Singh Dibipura by a margin of 16,633 votes in Jalalabad, officials said. Congress candidate and former IAS officer Balwinder Singh Dhaliwal defeated Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Rajesh Bagha by a margin of 26,116 votes in Phagwara.

The Jalalabad seat was vacated by Shiromani Akali Dal President Sukhbir Badal, while the Dakha seat was vacated by the Aam Aadmi Party’s H.S. Phoolka.

BJP’s Som Parkash vacated the Phagwara seat, while Mukerian went to the polls following the demise of sitting Congress MLA Rajnish Babbi.

The Jalalabad seat saw the highest poll percentage of 70 per cent, followed by Dhaka (64), Mukerian (57.28) and Phagwara (49.96 per cent).

The main contest is between the Congress and the Akali Dal-BJP alliance. The Congress has 78 legislators in the 117-member House.

Related Posts