Winter Session: Four more MPs suspended by Lok Sabha Speaker

Parliament of India
Parliament of India

New Delhi, Jan 7: Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Monday suspended three AIADMK MPs- P Venugopal, KN Ramchandran, K Gopal and TDP MP N Shivaprasad under Rule 374A for two days.

The Speaker’s decision came after members of the two parties were staging protests near the Speaker’s podium raising slogans in support of their demands like special status for Andhra Pradesh and against the proposed dam on the Cauvery river in Karnataka, issues.

Last week, Mahajan had suspended 45 Lok Sabha members belonging to AIADMK and the TDP.

The Rajya Sabha on Monday adjourned till 2 p.m., minutes after it resumed for the day.

Meanwhile, the Lok Sabha was adjourned till 12 p.m. after witnessing protests by on various demands.

Soon after the House resumed, the Congress members trooped near the Speaker’s podium and started sloganeering demanding the probe in the deal for 36 ready-to-fly Rafale jets.

Speaker Sumitra Mahajan tried to conduct the Question Hour but the protests continued, forcing her to adjourn the House till 12 p.m.

Earlier in a day, the Congress Monday gave a notice to move Privilege Motion against Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman for misleading the Parliament on contracts given to HAL.

Congress MP KC Venugopal served the notice.

Meanwhile, the Rajya Sabha adjourned till 2 p.m., minutes after it met for the day.

Soon after the proceedings began, Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu announced that he had rejected the notices given by some members under Rule 267.

The opposition members, who wanted to discuss the Rafale deal and other issues under suspension of business rule, were on their feet. They loudly objected to their notices being rejected.

Amid the din, Naidu adjourned the House till 2 p.m.


Related Posts