Connect with us
Meira Kumar Meira Kumar


Presidential Polls: Meira Kumar Is Opposition’s Candidate For Presidential Polls



New Delhi, June 22, 2017: The opposition on Thursday announced it will field former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar against the NDA’s Ram Nath Kovind in the Presidential election.

The meeting is conveyed, a day after Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s party Janata Dal-United (JD-U) decided to support NDA Presidential nominee Ram Nath Kovind.

“Today in the opposition parties meeting which shall be chaired by Congress President Sonia Gandhi these issues (Presidential candidate) would be discussed,” Congress leader Mallikarjuna Kharge said here.

“Let us see what comes out of the meeting,” he said.

Reacting on the JD-U’s decision to support National Democratic Alliance’s (NDA) Presidential candidate Kovind, Kharge said: “Nitish Kumar’s party JD-U’s announcement to support Kovind is his decision.”

“Earlier in the opposition parties’ meeting, JD-U leader Sharad Yadav had advised not to decide on the Presidential candidate in hurry,” he added.

Sharad Yadav was also a member of the sub-committee formed by opposition parties to decide their presidential candidate.

Sonia Gandhi had taken the initiative to talk to opposition parties to evolve a consensus on a presidential poll candidate. Nitish Kumar was among the leaders who met her and JD-U leaders took part in all meetings of the grouping.

The Left parties are keen to put up a candidate against Kovind in what they call an “ideological battle”.

While some parties have floated the name of former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar as the combined opposition candidate, the other name doing the rounds is of former Maharashtra Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde, who too belongs to the Dalit community.


Income Tax sleuths seize cash, gold in poll-bound Karnataka



Income Tax
Income Tax. (Photo: Twitter/@IncomeTaxIndia)

Bengaluru, April 21 (IANS) Income-Tax (I-T) sleuths seized Rs 4.13 crore in cash and 4.52 kg gold jewellery valued at Rs 1.32 crore during raids conducted over the last three weeks in poll-bound Karnataka, an official said on Saturday.

“Of the Rs 4.13-crore seized, Rs 4.03 crore is in Rs 2,000 and Rs 500 currency notes, with Bengaluru accounting for Rs 2.47 crore and Ballari Rs 55 lakh,” said state I-T Director-General (Investigations) G. Ramesh in a statement here.

The rich mining Ballari town is 330 km from Bengaluru.

A single-phase election to the 225-member Karnataka assembly, including one nominated is scheduled on May 12 across the southern state, with vote count on May 15.

“We have stepped up surveillance and monitoring of activities in view of the state assembly election. Seizure in higher denomination rises eyebrows, as people are finding difficulty in drawing cash from banks and ATMs due to its shortage in some parts of the country,” asserted Ramesh.

High alertness at airports and railway stations across the state led to detection of a person carrying Rs 16.5-lakh in cash at one of the airports without valid proof of its source.

“A follow-up action against the accused person led to detection and seizure of additional Rs 37 lakh in his Mumbai premises. We have seized all the cash amounting to Rs 53.50 lakh,” pointed out Ramesh.

In raid, the sleuths seized Rs 55 lakh in cash from a person to whom a contractor paid in a districts and confession by the latter of concealing Rs 16 crore to evade paying income tax on it.

In another case, household articles valued at Rs 9.51 crore intended for distribution was found in a warehouse near Mysuru.

“Investigation revealed that the articles were meant for distribution was found in a warehouse near Mysuru,” claimed Ramesh.

Rs 50 lakh cash was sized from a person, whose name and place has not been released.

“We have set up a 24×7 control room in the city to receive election related complaints from the public and other state agencies. Strike teams have also been formed with powers in all the 30 districts to act,” said Ramesh.

The bank’s investigation cell has gathered details of contract payments made in the last quarter of the fiscal 2017-18 and comparing them pervious years to identify abnormality.

“We are also co-relating bank transactions and cash withdrawals with other officials,” added Ramesh.


Continue Reading


Siddaramaiah files nomination from Chamundeshwari seat




Bengaluru, April 20 (IANS) Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah on Friday filed his nomination to contest the ensuing state Legislative Assembly elections from Chamundeshwari constituency in Mysuru, an official said.

“Siddaramaiah, along with his son Yathindra, visited the Chamundeshwari temple atop Chamundi Hills in Mysuru to pray to goddess Durga before filing his nomination,” an official from the Chief Minister’s Office told IANS here.

The 69-year-old veteran leader contested from Chamundeshwari seat seven times since 1983 and won five times. He later shifted his constituency to Varuna in Mysuru district, from where he was elected twice since 2008, including the last assembly polls in 2013.

Siddaramaiah has paved way for his son, Yathindra, to contest the May 12 assembly elections from his home constituency Varuna. Yathindra, who will be contesting the state elections for the first time, also filed his nomination papers on Friday.

Siddaramaiah switched over to the Congress from the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) in August 2006 following differences with its supremo and former Prime Minister H.D. Deve Gowda and his second son and former Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy.

He is also only second lawmaker in the southern state to complete the five-year term as Chief Minister in 40 years after Devaraj Urs did from 1972-78, as about 10 chief ministers could not complete their full term in between for various reasons.

Meanwhile, JD-S state president Kumaraswamy filed his nomination for the state polls from both Channapatna and Ramanagara assembly segments in Ramanagara district, about 50km southwest from here.


Continue Reading


BJP releases third list of candidates for Karnataka Polls



BJP Flag

New Delhi, April 20: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday released the third list of candidates for the upcoming crucial Karnataka Assembly Elections. 

The Central Election Committee of the BJP has decided the name for the ensuing elections.

Last week, the saffron party had announced the second list of 82 candidates. Prior to this, on April 8, it had released the first list of 72 candidates who will contest the high stakes Karnataka assembly polls.

Karnataka will vote on May 12 to elect its representatives for the 224-member assembly.

The results will be announced on May 15.


Continue Reading

Most Popular