Polling ends in 8 Lok Sabha constituencies of Uttar Pradesh

Election 2019 Uttar Pradesh
Lucknow, April 11: The polling which commenced at 7 am for the eight Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh came to an end at 6 pm on Thursday.

In the maiden phase of Lok Sabha elections, around 59.77 percent of voting was recorded till 5 pm in the eight parliamentary constituencies of the state.


Polling took place in Baghpat, Muzaffarnagar, Kairana, Meerut, Noida, Ghaziabad, Saharanpur and Bijnor.

Earlier, the technical problems in Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) at a booth in Shamli district’s Hasanpur Luhari village delayed the start of voting.

The technical problems in at least 13 EVMs were also reported in Meerut district.

In this phase of election, a total of 96 candidates are in the fray including 10 women.

The first phase of Uttar Pradesh polling is crucial as any polarisation in the western part — as seen during the 2014 Lok Sabha elections — might affect the final tally.

Three Union Ministers — Gen V.K. Singh (Ghaziabad), Satyapal Singh (Baghpat) and Mahesh Sharma (Gautam Buddha Nagar) are in the fray as is Rashtriya Lok Dal chief Ajit Singh (Muzaffarnagar) and his son Jayant Chaudhary (Bagpat).


Related Posts