Connect with us


Political parties with lesser seats get more vote share




New Delhi, March 11 

The BSP, which won only 19 seats out of total 403 seats in Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections, got over 22 per cent of the total votes, becoming the second largest party in terms of vote share.

Its rival Samajwadi Party, which won 47 seats, only got 21.8 per cent of the total votes cast in the elections.

The Bharatiya Janata Party, which won 312 seats, secured 39.7 per cent vote share in the state, according to the Election Commission on Saturday.

The Congress with 7 seats could only manage over six per cent of the vote share in the most politically important state of the country.

In Punjab, where Congress won a majority with 77 seats out of total 117, it got 38.5 per cent of total votes, while Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) that came a distant second with 20 seats secured over 23 per cent of the total votes cast in the state.

The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) with 15 assembly seats, however, got over 25 per cent of vote share.

The BJP, which was in alliance with the SAD, with just three seats got over five per cent of the total votes.

In Uttarkhand, the BJP won 57 seats out of 70 and got the maximum vote share of 46.5 per cent followed by the Congress with 33.5 per cent despite it winning only 11 seats.

The BJP in Goa, despite winning only 13 seats in the 40-member house, got more votes than the Congress at 32.5 per cent. The Congress, which emerged as the single-largest party with 17 seats in the state, secured over 28 per cent of the total votes.

In Manipur, the BJP with 21 seats got more vote share than the Congress with 28 seats. The BJP secured over 36 per cent of the total votes against Congress’ 35 per cent.




Madhya Pradesh By-Polls: Set back to BJP, Congress bags 20 wards of 24 in Raghogarh



Bhopal, Jan 20: The Congress party showcased an enthusiastic fight in the Madhya Pradesh civil polls by clinching nine president posts in 19 civic bodies on Saturday, tying the Bharatiya Janata Party, which too, won nine top posts. 

Meanwhile, giving a major setback to the Bharatiya Janata Party, the Congress bagged 20 out of 24 wards in Raghogarh Nagar by-elections. Whereas the BJP won only four wards.

However , the Congress has been in control of the Raghogarh-Vijaypur Municipal Council for the last two decades.

The results are seen as a morale boost for the Congress as the party is planning to go all out against the BJP in the upcoming assembly elections , which slated to held later this year.

Municipal Council elections took place on January 17 in Five districts – Dhar, Barwani, Khandwa, Guna, and Anuppur.

The counting of votes begun at 9 am and ended in the afternoon.


Continue Reading


EVMs to have candidates’ pictures




Jaipur, Jan 19: The Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will carry pictures of candidates along with their names — when by-elections are held in Rajasthan on January 29.

According to Chief Election Officer Ashvini Bhagat, this has been done to ensure there was no confusion if there were two candidates with the same name.

According to the new arrangement, the EVMs will have the name of the candidate, his or her picture and the election symbol.

Bhagat said although this experiment was done in the Dholpur Assembly by-election, it hasn’t been done anywhere in a Lok Sabah election.

Lok Sabha by-polls are scheduled in Ajmer and Alwar on January 29 while Assembly elections will be held the same day in Mandalgarh.


Continue Reading


Assembly elections: Tripura to vote on Feb 18, Meghalaya, Nagaland on Feb 27; results on March 3



New Delhi, Jan 18: The Election Commission on Thursday announced  the schedule for Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland assembly elections. 

While addressing a press conference, Chief Election Commissioner AK Joti said Tripura will vote on February 18, 2017. While polling in Meghalaya and Nagaland will take place on February 27 (Tuesday).

Counting for all the three states will be conducted on March 3, 2018. The results will be declared on the same day.

A total strength of  the three assemblies is 60 members each.

Election to the three states to be held in two rounds.

The term of the Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura legislative assemblies will end on March 6, March 13 and March 14 respectively.

Announcing the poll schedule, Chief Election Commissioner informed  VVPATs and EVMs will be used in the three states for the very first time.


Continue Reading

Most Popular