Parliament Attack: Nation pays tribute to martyrs

Parliament Attack

New Delhi, Dec 13: The country is paying tribute to the martyrs who lost their lives while defending Parliament House in the terrorist attack that took place on this day, seventeen years ago.

Vice-President Venkaiah Naidu,  Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress President Rahul Gandhi and other leaders visited the Parliament to pay their homage to martyrs.

On December 13, 2001, five heavily-armed militants belonging to terror outfit Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) and Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM), stormed the parliament complex and opened fire indiscriminately, killing nine persons.

Those killed included five Delhi Police personnel, a woman Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) officer, two Parliament watch and ward staff and a gardener.

Media person, who was injured, died later. All five terrorists were shot dead.

A year later, four accused, including terrorist Afzal Guru, were held for the attack and found guilty after a trial.

Guru was hanged to death on February 9, 2013.


Related Posts