Opposition holds meeting over Triple Talaq Bill

New Delhi, Dec 31: As the Muslim Women Bill (Triple Talaq) 2018 is scheduled to be tabled in Rajya Sabha on Monday, the Opposition parties held a mweeting in RS LoP Ghulam Nabi Azad’s chamber in Parliament.

Leaders of 12 opposition parties including Samajwadi Party’s Ram Gopal Yadav, TMC’s Derek O’Brien, CPI’s D. Raja and Kerala Congress’ Jose K. Mani attended the meeting.

The Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, that makes the practice of instant divorce a criminal offence will be introduced by in Rajya Sabha by Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi also chaired a crucial meeting in Parliament.

Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) President Amit Shah, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Home Minister Rajnath Singh attended the meeting.

Last week on December 27, the Triple Talaq Bill was passed in Lok Sabha amid intense discussion and opposition.

The Congress and AIADMK MPs, staged a walkout of the Lok Sabha when the Bill was passed.


Related Posts