Opposition leaders to attend swearing-in of Ashok Gehlot and Kamal Nath

Gehlot , Pilot, Rahul Gandhi

Jaipur, Dec 16 : Congress President Rahul Gandhi, top leaders from several non-BJP parties, which are in Grand alliance to defeat the Modi led BJP in 2019 Lok Sabha elections, are expected to attend  the swearing in of Ashok Gehlot and Kamal Nath as chief ministers of Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh, respectively on Monday.

The programme, in which Sachin Pilot will also take oath as the state’s Deputy Chief Minister, would be held at 10 a.m at Albert Hall here.
The Congress won 99 seats and the BJP 73 out of the 199 where polling took place on December 7 for the Rajasthan assembly.

TMC MP Nadimul Haque will be present at the swearing-in ceremony of Rajasthan CM and Deputy CM in Jaipur tomorrow, as a representative from TMC.

Others expected at the ceremony include Janata Dal (Secular) chief and former prime minister H D Deve Gowda, Loktantrik Janata Dal leader Sharad Yadav, National Conference’s Farooq Abdullah , Telugu Desam Party’s N Chandrababu Naidu, former Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav, DMK working President M.K. Stalin, party leader Kanimozhi, JMM leader Hemant Soren and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha chief Babulal Marandi.

All India United Democratic Front leader Badruddin Ajmal is also likely to participate, Congress sources said.

Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy on Saturday confirmed that he would attend Ashok Gehlot’s swearing-in as the Rajasthan Chief Minister.

While Gehlot will take the oath as Chief Minister for the third time, Pilot will take the oath for the first time as Deputy Chief Minister.

Related Posts