Only 5 MPs in Lok Sabha clock 100% attendance

lok sabha

New Delhi, June 5, 2017: The Lok Sabha has 545 representatives out of which only 5 members clocked 100% attendance in three years of the current proceedings.

Uttar Pradesh’s MP from Banda, Bhairon Prasad Mishra is the highest with 100% attendance record. He participated in 1,468 debates and discussions. The other four MPs who have 100% attendance are BJD MP from Jagatsinghpur Kulmani Samal and BJP MPs Gopal Shetty (North Mumbai-Maharashtra), Kirit Solanki (Ahmedabad West) and Ramesh Chander Kaushik (Sonipat-Haryana).

However, twenty-two Lower House parliamentarians attended only half of the sittings or even less than that.

As it is not mandatory for Prime Minister, Leader of Oppositions, Home Minister and some other Ministers to sign the attendance register their records are not available.

But it is really shocking to know that Congress President Sonia Gandhi, who was even unwell for some time, attended sittings more than her son party vice-president Rahul Gandhi.

Records show that Sonia has 59% attendance as against 54% recorded to Rahul. In the last three years, Sonia Gandhi participated in five debates while the Rahul took part in 11 debates, including one on inflation.

According to the attendance data maintained by PRS Legislative, a non-profit research body that tracks functioning of Parliament, nearly 25% MPs, 133 of the 545, have attended more than 90% of the sittings while the national average for lawmakers is 80%.

Congress veterans Veerappa Moily and Mallikarjun Kharge, who is also the Leader of the Congress in Lok Sabha, recorded 91 and 92% attendance, while the party’s young guns Jyotiraditya Scindia and Rajeev Satav attended 80 and 81% of the Lok Sabha sittings.

Veteran parliamentarian and Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav clocked 79% attendance as against 35% recorded to his daughter-in-law Dimple Yadav. She is among those who attended less than 50% of the Lok Sabha sittings.

Punjab CM Amarinder Singh, who represented Amritsar until December 2016, attended only 6% of the proceedings while his Jammu and Kashmir counterpart Mehooba Mufti attended only 35% of the House proceedings.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Adityanath Yogi, who took charge of the state in March this year, continues to remain a member of the Lok Sabha clocked 72% of the House.

Interestingly, it seems like actors turned politicians is also following the suite of ministers as their attendance continue to remain low. Apart from Mathura MP Hema Malini attended only 35% of the Lok Sabha sittings as she had met with an accident in 2015.

Bhojpuri actor-singer and Delhi BJP president Manoj Tiwari recorded 77% attendance while comedian turned politician and AAP’s Sangrur MP Bhagwant Mann attended only 52% of the sittings.

Shatrughan Sinha attended 70% of the sittings, but the firebrand MP from Bihar’s Patna Sahib did not participate in any debate nor did he ask any question. TMC MP and actress Moon Moon Sen mirrored Sinha’s record.

 Wefornews Bureau

Related Posts