Om Prakash Rawat appointed new Chief Election Commissioner

New Delhi, Jan 22: Seniormost Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat has been appointed as the new Chief Election Commissioner (CEC), succeeding incumbent Achal Kumar Jyoti to the post.

While, former finance secretary Ashok Lawasa named as election commissioner, to fill the vacancy created by Rawat’s elevation.

Rawat who will take charge on January 23, will serve a tenure of almost a year till his retirement in December 2018.

He has previously held various key portfolios at the Central government and in the states. He was also deputed to South Africa in May 1994 as the United Nations’ election observer to chalk out the first post-apartheid elections there.


Related Posts