Office of Profit case: EC issues notice to another 27 AAP MLAs

Arvind Kejriwal

Delhi, 2 Nov: In a major blow to Aam Aadmi Party, the Election Commission (EC) on Wednesday issued a notice to another 27 Delhi govt MLAs’ for allegedly holding office of profit.

As per reports, the EC received the communique from the Rashtrapati Bhavan in the mid of October following which the EC has taken the move.

The 21 Party legislatures, who are already facing charges for allegedly holding Office of Profit sought time to study the documents..

On September 8, the Delhi High Court had rejected the appointment of 21 party MLAs as parliamentary secretaries. The court ruled after observing that the order to appoint them as parliamentary secretaries was given without the concurrence of the Lt Governor.

Read Full Story at: EC rejects AAP MLAs plea to get hard copies of govt response

Advocate Prashant Patel filed the petition to disqualify AAP MLAs and termed the legislators’ move a “ploy” to delay the proceedings.

Earlier in June, President Pranab Mukherjee withheld the assent to a Bill passed by the Delhi Government in June 2015 to exempt the post of Parliamentary Secretary from the purview of an office-of-profit with retrospective effect.

The Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal had passed an order appointing the 21 MLAs, including Alka Lamba, Jarnail Singh, Adarsh Shastri and Rajesh Gupta, as Parliamentary Secretaries on March 13 last year.

 Wefornews Bureau

Related Posts