No relief from Delhi High Court to 20 AAP MLAs in Office of Profit case

EC has sent its recommendation to the President for his assent to disqualify 20 Aam Aadmi party MLAs for holding ‘office of profit’. According to news agency ANI, the Election Commission said,” Recommendation on AAP MLAs is sub judice, will not comment on what recommendation has been given to the President.”

Delhi High Court refuses to grant interim relief to Aam Aadmi Party MLAs in Office of Profit case.

Earlier Aam Aadmi Party approached Delhi High Court against Election Commission’s recommendation to disqualify their 20 MLAs in Office of Profit case.

Meanwhile, one of the alleged disqualified AAP MLA Rajesh Gupta told ANI,”We demanded a copy of the letter but we have got nothing from the Election Commission. There has been no hearing. The matter is sub judice on the high court.”

After this news breaks out in the media Saurabh Bhardwaj of AAP said, “The reporting of EC disqualifying 20 AAP MLAs for holding ‘office of profit’ is only through the sources. MLAs have not got a chance to keep their point. People should be asked if they have seen them with cars or bungalows.”

The disqualification of the legislators is expected to pave the way for by-elections in Delhi.

The controversy surrounding AAP MLAs started just after AAP’s victory in assembly election when a petition filed by Delhi lawyer Prashant Patel sought the disqualification of 20 MLAs for allegedly holding an ‘office of profit’ as parliamentary secretaries.

In August 2017, the Delhi High Court had refused the MLAs’ plea to stay the EC’s order upholding maintainability of the petition despite their appointment as parliamentary secretaries having been quashed in 2016.

 The name of 20 AAP MLAs the Election Commission has found guilty of ‘office of profit’ are as following

1. Adarsh Shastri from Dwarka constituency
2. Alka Lamba from Chandni Chowk constituency
3. Sanjeev Jha from Burari constituency
4. Kailash Gehlot from Najafgarh constituency
5. Vijendra Garg from Rajinder Nagar constituency
6. Praveen Kumar from Jangpura constituency
7. Sharad Kumar Chauhan from Narela constituency
8. Madan Lal Khufiya from Kasturba Nagar constituency
9. Shiv Charan Goyal from Moti Nagar constituency
10. Sarita Singh from Rohtas Nagar constituency
11. Naresh Yadav from Mehrauli constituency
12. Rajesh Gupta from Wazirpur constituency
13. Rajesh Rishi from Janakpuri constituency
14. Anil Kumar Bajpai from Gandhi Nagar constituency
15. Som Dutt from Sadar Bazar constituency
16. Avtar Singh from Kalkaji constituency
17. Sukhvir Singh Dala from Mundka constituency
18. Manoj Kumar from Kondli constituency
19. Nitin Tyagi from Laxmi Nagar constituency
20. Jarnail Singh from Tilak Nagar constituency


Related Posts