Connect with us


New Zealand women pocket series in last-ball thriller



India vs New Zealand Women

Auckland, Feb 8: New Zealand women took an unbeatable 2-0 lead in the three-T20I series after beating India by 4 wickets in a last ball thriller at the Eden Park here on Friday.

Chasing a meagre 136, the White Ferns rode Suzie Bates’s magnificent 52-ball 62, and overcame a late scare from the Indian bowlers, before overhauling the target in the final delivery of the innings.

New Zealand got off to a sound 33-run start with Sophie Devine (19) and Bates putting on 33 runs for the opening wicket before captain Amy Satterthwaite (23) and Bates added 61 runs for the fourth wicket to lay the platform for the chase.

While India managed to put the brakes by dismissing Satterthwaite, Bates and Anna Peterson (0) in quick succession, wicketkeeper Katey Martin (13) and the lower order pair of Leigh Kasperek (4 not out) and Hannah Rowe (4 not out) kept their nerves to drag the hosts home.

For the tourists, Arundhati Reddy and Radha Yadav took two wickets apiece while Mansi Joshi and Poonam Yadav chipped in with a wicket each.

Earlier, after being put in to bat, India overcame the early loss of opener Priya Punia (4), with the in-form duo of Smriti Mandhana (36) and Jemimah Rodrigues (72) putting on a solid 63-run second wicket stand to lay the platform.

While Rodrigues showed her class by hanging around for 53 balls and striking six boundaries and a six, after the departure of Mandhana, the rest of the India batters even failed to reach the double digits.

While Dayalan Hemalatha was retired hurt after scoring a couple of runs, the likes of skipper Harmanpreet Kaur (5),A Deepti Sharma (6), Arundhati Reddy (3) failed to provide any support to the 18-year-old Rodrigues, before eventually ending up on 135/6.

With the series already out of hand, India will now aim to end the series and the tour on a high by winning the third and final T20I at Hamilton on Sunday.

Brief Scores: India Women 136/6: (Jemimah Rodrigues 72, Smriti Mandhana 36; Rosemary Mair 2/17) lost to New Zealand Women 136/6 (Suzie Bates 62, Amy Satterthwaite 23, Sophie Devine 19; Arundhati Reddy 2/22) by 4 wickets.



India-Pakistan World Cup tie on schedule: ICC



New Delhi, Feb 20 (IANS) The International Cricket Council (ICC) said on Wednesday a decision on the group match between India and Pakistan at the ODI World Cup will be taken at its next meeting.

Former Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) officials Sanjay Patel and Rajiv Shukla had demanded that India boycott the World Cup match against Pakistan following the recent suicide attack in Jammu and Kashmir in which 40 Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) troopers were killed.

“There is no indication that any World Cup match will not go ahead as planned. Sport, in particular cricket, has the wonderful ability to bring people together and unite communities. We will work with our members on that basis,” Richardson was quoted as saying.

According to ICC officials, the game’s global governing body is likely to take a call on cricket ties between the two south Asian nations at the February 27 meeting in Dubai.

Continue Reading


Veteran coach Irfan Ansari banned from cricket for 10 years



Irfan Ansari
Irfan Ansari (File Photo)

Dubai, Feb 20: United Arab Emirates-based veteran coach Irfan Ansari has been banned from all forms of cricket for 10 years after he was found guilty of breaching three counts of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Anti-Corruption Code, it was announced on Wednesday.

During the ICC Anti-Corruption Tribunal hearing, the Tribunal heard evidence that Ansari approached Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed during the Pakistan series with Sri Lanka in the UAE in October 2017 with a view to engaging him in corrupt conduct by soliciting information from him, according to an ICC statement.

Sarfaraz reported the approach immediately and an ICC ACU investigation ensued which resulted in these charges and decision.

Ansari is bound by the code as a result of his affiliation to the Pakistan cricket team and also as a result of being a coach to two teams that participate in domestic matches in the UAE.

He was found guilty of the three offences under the Code.

Alex Marshall, ICC General Manager – ACU said: “I would like to place on record my thanks to Sarfaraz Ahmed who showed true leadership and professionalism from the moment he reported this approach. He recognised it for what it was, rejected it and reported it. He then supported our investigation and subsequent tribunal.

“This is the first time we have prosecuted for failure to cooperate with an investigation since the new rules enabling us to demand the participants hand over their phone for examination and the sanction reflects the seriousness of the offence. It is an important tool to aid our investigations and continue in our efforts to rid the sport of these corrupters,” he added.


Continue Reading


IPL 2019: Schedule for 2 weeks announced, CSK to take RCB in opener



rcb csk ipl
Defending champions CSK will face RCB in the IPL 2019 opener

New Delhi, Feb 19: Defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will take on Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the opening match of IPL 2019 in Chennai on March 23.

The schedule of the 2019 edition of the IPL will be released in parts by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in view of the coming Lok Sabha elections. A total of 17 matches will be played during the two-week period from March 23 to April 5 across the eight home venues of the respective franchises.

All teams will play a minimum of four matches with the newly-christened Delhi Capitals and RCB playing five matches. Every team will play a minimum of twp home and two away matches with DC playing three home matches, while RCB will play 3 away matches.

Here’s the schedule; Take a look!

March 23 – Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore – 8 p.m.

Match 24 – Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad – 4 p.m.

March 24 – Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals – 8 p.m.

Match 25 – Rajasthan Royals vs Kings XI Punjab – 8 p.m.

March 26 – Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings – 8 p.m.

March 27 – Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab – 8 p.m.

March 28 – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians – 8 p.m.

March 29 – Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals – 8 p.m.

March 30 – Kings XI Punjab vs Mumbai Indians – 4 p.m.

March 30 – Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders – 8 p.m.

March 31 – Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore – 4 p.m.

March 31 – Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals – 8 p.m.

April 1 – Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Capitals – 8 p.m.

April 2 – Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore – 8 p.m.

April 3 – Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings – 8 p.m.

April 4 – Delhi Capitals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad – 8 p.m.

April 5 – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders – 8 p.m.


Continue Reading

Most Popular