New Map Of India Shows Union Territories Of Jammu And Kashmir, Ladakh

New Delhi, Nov 3: Home Ministry issued a notification on Saturday detailing the boundaries of the newly created Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh. The notification has the new political map of India that includes areas previously labelled as Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK).

The two UTs came into existence on October 31, on the occasion of 144th birth anniversary of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, who was behind the merger of over 560 princely states into the Union of India.

Singh tweeted the picture of the new map along with a caption that read: “New Map showing the Union Territories of #Jammu & #Kashmir and #Ladakh , as these exist after 31st October, 2019 (sic),” Singh posted along with the picture of the map.”

The union territories received their first Lieutenant Governors; Girish Chandra Murmu, the former Union Expenditure Secretary, was sworn in as the first Lieutenant-Governor of Jammu and Kashmir and Radha Krishna Mathur, a former Defence Secretary, was sworn in as the first Lieutenant Governor of Ladakh.

Also according to the notification, in 1947 the former State of Jammu and Kashmir had the following 14 districts – Kathua, Jammu, Udhampur, Reasi, Anantnag, Baramulla, Poonch, Mirpur, Muzaffarabad, Leh and Ladakh, Gilgit, Gilgit Wazarat, Chilhas and Tribal Territory.

On August 5, Modi governmnet announced its decision to abrogate Article 370 that granted special status to Jammu and Kashmir and bifurcate the state into two UTs.

Following the decision, over 6000 people from Kahsmir including political leaders from Kashmir including former Chief Ministers Farooq Abdullah, Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti were put under detention.

Related Posts