Mehbooba, 9 others file nominations from Anantnag LS seat

Mehbooba Mufti
CM Mehbooba Mufti, File Photo

Srinagar, April 3 (Jammu and Kashmir’s former Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti of the Peoples Democratic Party, state Congress chief G.A. Mir and Justice (retd) Hasnain Masoodi of the National Conference filed their nomination papers from the Anantnag Lok Sabha seat on Wednesday.

In addition to these, Choudhary Zaffar Ali of Jammu & Kashmir People’s Conference, Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh of the Janata Dal-United and five Independents also filed their papers in the office of the district electoral officer.

Six candidates, including Sofi Yusuf of the Bharatiya Janata Party, have already filed papers for this Lok Sabha seat, taking the total number of candidates who have filed nominations to 16.

Due to the fragile security situation in this constituency, polling would be held in three phases – on April 23, April 29 and May 6.

Related Posts