Manipur: Biren Singh Govt wins floor test


Imphal, March 20: The newly elect Coalition Cabinet of Bharatiya Janata Party led by Chief Minister Nongthombam Biren Singh on Monday won floor test in Manipur.

The BJP’s latest victory was marked by the support of 32 of the total 60 MLAs in the Manipur Assembly.

The saffron party had left no stone unturned to form the government in the eastern state. Since Thursday, all of the BJP coalition legislators in Manipur, including the an Independent and a Trinamool Congress legislature were were staying in a Guwahati hotel.

N. Biren Singh was sworn in as the first BJP Chief Minister of Manipur on March 16.

Only two BJP MLAs including the Chief Minister were inducted in the BJP-led ministry, while four MLAs of NPP, one each of NPF, LJP and the Congress legislator who joined the saffron party, were included in the ministry.

The BJP won 21 seats and formed the state government with support of four MLAs each of NPP and NPF, one MLA of LJP and one each lawmaker of Congress and Trinamool Congress who joined the saffron party. The largest party after the poll results is congres sand sitting in opposition with 28 legislatures.

Wefornews Bureau

Related Posts