Mamata to retain power in West Bengal: Exit polls


New Delhi/Kolkata, May 16 : The ruling Trinamool Congress led by Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will retain power in West Bengal with a slightly reduced majority, two exit polls said on Monday evening.

According to ABP Ananda-AC Nielsen, the Trinamool will win 163 of the state’s 294 assembly seats. The CPI-M-led Left Front and the Congress combine will win in 126 seats with a solitary seat going to the BJP and others winning in the remaining four.

However, the survey said that in 25 constituencies, the margin of victory was less than five percent, and the final result sheet could drastically change depending on the results in these seats.

C-Voter predicted 167 seats for the Trinamool, 75 for the Left, 45 for the Congress, four to the BJP and three to others.

In 2011, the Trinamool stormed power in the state bagging 184 seats. The Congress, which was aligned with it, bagged 42 of the 65 seats it contested. The Left Front, which was ousted from power in the state after 34 years of interrupted rule, only managed to win 62 seats.

The polls now were held in six stages stretched over seven days. The result will be declared on May 19.

Related Posts