Maharashtra SEC cracks whip on errant political parties


Mumbai, March 7 : The Maharashtra State Election Commission (M-SEC) on Thursday cracked the whip on 14 errant political parties for not submitting details of their expenses in local body elections.

In show-cause notices served to the parties, State Election Commissioner J.S. Sahariya asked them to submit by March 10 details of expenditure incurred during the local body elections or face cancellation of their registration.

Sahariya said submitting poll expense details is mandatory, but most parties have failed to comply with it despite several reminders.

The parties served with the notices include the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Shiv Sena, Congress, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) and the Samajwadi Party (SP).

The other parties are the Communist Party of India (CPI), Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPM), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S), Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul-Muslimeen (AIMIM) and the Janata Dal-United (JD-U).

Related Posts