Maharashtra, Haryana Elections On October 21, Results On October 24


New Delhi, Sep 21: Single phase Assembly elections will be held in Maharashtra and Haryana on October 21 alongwith by elections in 64 constituencies across the country and the results will be declared on October 24.

By-elections to 64 constituencies across Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Assam, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, MP, Meghalaya, Odisha, Puducherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana &Uttar Pradesh, to be held on Oct 21 and counting of votes will be held on October 24.

The last date for filing nominations is October 4 and the deadline for withdrawing them is October 7. Two special expenditure observers, both retired Indian Revenue Service officers, will be sent to Maharashtra to check election spending by candidates, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora told reporters today.

For both Maharashtra and Haryana, the notification will be issued on 27 September. The polling for all 378 seats will be held in a single phase on 21 October and Nominations’ withdrawal: October 7.”I request the cooperation of all stakeholders in this democratic exercise,” the Chief Election Commissioner said.

Jharkhand, the third state where elections are due, will not be announced along with the two states.

Election campaigns impose an environmental cost upon us. We appeal to political parties to avoid use of plastic and use only environment-friendly material in their campaigns.

The poll panel has convened a press conference on Saturday noon.

While the term of 288-member Maharashtra assembly ends on November 9, that of the 90-member Haryana assembly expires on November 2.

The moment the dates are announced, the model code of conduct will come into effect in these states.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed a rally on Thursday at the close of the roadshow. The ruling Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis took out a Maha Jan Aadesh Yatra last month to reach out to voters across Maharashtra.

In Maharashtra, the BJP and the Sena have started campaigning for the polls and seat-sharing formula has been reached.

The rival Congress and Nationalist Congress Party have stitched an alliance to contest polls.

The BJP won Maharashtra with 122 seats in the 288-member assembly, ousting the Congress government.

The ruling party also won a majority for the first time in the 90-member Haryana assembly. Haryana Congress president Kumari Selja and former chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda has called upon party workers to make collective efforts to oust the BJP from power in the upcoming state elections.

Related Posts