Maharashtra Assembly Election results 2019 Live: BJP set to retain power

Security beefed
New Delhi: A security personnel stands guard outside an EVM strongroom ahead of the sixth phase of 2019 Lok Sabha elections, in New Delhi on May 11, 2019. (Photo: IANS)

Mumbai, Oct 24 : Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut asserted on Thursday that it will form the next government with BJP on a 50-50 sharing formula. The BJP-Shiv Sena alliance partners are leading in 155 of the 288 seats, latest trends showed.

While NCP-Congress alliance is hoping for a better performance as the BJP did not addressed the people’s issues of unemployment, farmer suicides and economic slowdown.

Congress defeats BJP in West Nagpur

In Nandurbar, BJP’s Vijaykumar Krushnarao Gavit was declared winner.

Congress candidate Vikas Thakre defeats BJP’s Sudhakar Kohale in West Nagpur.

In Palghar, Shiv Sena’s Shrinivas Chintaman Vanga won by 40,305 votes.

In Shahada, BJP’s Rajesh Udesing Padvi emerged winner.

8:49 AM: Live trends that are pouring in : Counting of votes is underway at Colaba counting centre in Mumbai; As per official trends from Election Commission, Congress leading on 1 seat and NCP leading on 2 seats in the state

The counting of votes began, starting with the postal ballots, at Colaba counting centre in Mumbai .

The exit polls results for Maharashtra Assembly elections have predicted the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance getting a clear majority in the state. While the India Today-Axis My India exit polls predicted 168-194 seats for the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance, News18-IPSOS exit poll survey predicted the Mahayuti getting 243 seats.

Meanwhile, voting concluded on the 288 seats in the state by 6 pm today with a tentative voter turnout of 56 per cent.

The first of the trends from many constituencies are likely to be available after an hour or so, said an election official.

Maharashtra assembly election results 2019 Live

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party-Shiv Sena and the Opposition Congress-Nationalist Congress Party are the main parties in the fray, besides Raj Thackeray’s Maharashtra Navnirman Sena, Prakash Ambedkar’s Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi, the Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen and Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party.

Tight security, with over 2,00,000 police personnel has been deployed as more than 25,000 election officials started the counting of votes all across the state.

Related Posts